welcome to my website
Dr. Sanjoy Kumar Pal



I was the first child of my parents. When I was very young my father was transferred from Kolkata to Kharagpur. He was then working as dermatologist in the South Eastern Railway. I studied in the S. E. Railways Mixed Higher Secondary School & Hijli High School, situated at the IIT campus, Kharagpur. From my childhood I had a wish to become a scientist. However, I was not very good at studies. But, I was a good badminton player, my school friends still remember me as a badminton champion. I left Kharagpur in 1980 after I completed my High School (10th). I studied

in Ideal Higher Secondary, Bhopal for my Intermediate. I did my graduation from Saifia College Bhopal; thereafter, I did my M.Sc. in Genetics from the School of Life Sciences, University Teaching Department, Bhopal University in 1987. For my doctoral degree I joined Indian Veterinary Research Institute. I received my Ph.D. in Animal Genetics in 1993. Subsequently, I did my post doctoral research from the department of Medical Genetics, Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences (SGPGIMS), Lucknow. However, due to an accident I was forced to take rest for a prolonged period. A specific incidence that again connected me back to the research world was cancer diagnosis of my late father-in-law Mr. Brojen Das (King of Channel). As predicted, after the first chemotherapy the general condition of my father-in-law deteriorated due to serious side effects. Thereafter, I had to do an extensive literature search for the best available alternative treatment for him.

For continuing his treatment we tried homeopathic & herbal therapies. To our surprise he responded well to these alternative therapies. Mr. Das survived for about a year after the diagnosis of his ailment; however, two things left a deep impression in my mind i.e., ‘Alternative Medicine’ and ‘Cancer’. Thereafter, I did a correspondence course on Alternative Medicine from Indian Board of Alternative Medicine, Kolkata. In 2000, I again joined SGPGIMS and started working on genetic changes related to gall bladder cancer. Later, I was awarded a project by the Indian Council of Medical Research, New Delhi, to study the various complementary and alternative cancer therapies that are popular in the northern India. For the last few years I am researching on various popular alternative cancer therapies of India with special focus on HUMA therapy. I worked as a faculty in the Department of Biotechnology, Sardar Bhagwan Singh (PG) Institute of Biomedical Sciences and Research, Dehradun from 2006 to 2008. I have worked as a Senior Scientific Manager in Ipca Traditional Remedies Private Limited, which is a sister concern of Ipca Laboratories Limited, Mumbai, from 2006 to 2008.  In 2010, I got a chance to work in Ethiopia i.e., Haramaya University in Dire Dawa. I had the opportunity to serve the university in the School of Animal Sciences for 4 years.